LibGuides: Training for Alabama Trustees: Trustee Handbook

Preface

Alabama Public Library Service Trustee Handbook is intended to answer most questions board and library staff members might have about the role of trustees in the public library. The handbook is designed in such a way that readers can quickly identify and read what is of interest to them. Readers may also download and print the handbook in its entirety. Trustees with questions not answered in the handbook should contact the APLS consultant assigned to their library using the map and contact information contained in the "Front Matter" section below. Please note that the handbook was prepared as an educational resource and should not replace competent legal advice.

Alabama Public Service Trustee Manual

Front Matter
Title page, Table of Contents, Acknowledgements, Introduction, APLS Consultant District Map and Contact Information
Chapter 1: How a Public LIbrary is Established in Alabama
Library Establishment Provided by Alabama State Law, Joint Library Service , Reporting Requirements , Working with Local Government Officials , Powers and Duties of a Library Board, Trustee Term Length, and Qualifications and Attributes Needed by Library Trustees
Chapter 2: Organizing the Library Board for Work
Getting oriented, Organization Overview, Library Board Officers, Open Meetings, Guidelines For Effective Board Meetings, Bylaws, Board Self-Evaluation, and More Information about the Trustee’s Job
Chapter 3: Trustees and the Library Director
Understanding the Roles of the Library Board and the Library , Director, Working with the Library Director, and The Board's Relationship with Library Staff
Chapter 4: Planning
Planning Overview, Planning Sequence, Local Choice and Planning, Strategic Planning for Results, Aspen Action Guide, Planning and LSTA, and Sample Plans
Chapter 5: Policies and Procedures
Policies and Procedures Overview, What is a policy?, Why are Policies Needed?, How are Policies and Procedures Made?, Policy Manual, Suggested Content for a Library Policy Manual, More About Procedures, and Policy Resources
Chapter 6: Laws Affecting Public Libraries
Chapter 7: Funding
Trustee Responsibilities, The Budget Process, Following the Money, Sources of Library Funding, Tips for Successful Budget Planning, Raising Funds for the Library
Chapter 8: Alabama Public Library Service
Alabama Public Library Service Overview, Library Development Department, Reference Department, Public Relations Office, IT Department, Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped, Services for State Employees, State Aid, LSTA (Library Services and Technology Act), E-Rate Program, Summer Library Program, Electronic Resources, Publications, Annual Statistical Report, and Meeting Space
Alabama Public Library Service Trustee Handbook
Download the whole document including appendices here.

Training for Alabama Trustees: Trustee Handbook

Preface

Alabama Public Service Trustee Manual

Trustee Manual Appendices