Libraries and COVID-19 Webinar: Providing Virtual Services --from ALA (free, archived)
Virtual Programming During a Pandemic --a SLJ blog post about programming for teens
Serving Patrons Experiencing Homelessness in a COVID-19 Shutdown --Ideas from Programming Librarian
Library Crowdsourcing Projects Provide Productive Distraction at a Social Distance --from Library Journal
Example: Thursday: What Are We Doing Today? --from Central Minnesota Library Exchange, a fun, multimedia website with different activities every day
Ebooks and Audiobooks:
Audible Books --Now for free, kids everywhere can instantly stream a collection of stories, including titles across six different languages, that will help them continue dreaming, learning, and just being kids. All stories are free to stream on your desktop, laptop, phone or tablet.
Capstone Interactive ebooks: Interactive ebooks for PreK-high school
PebbleGo--Capstone is offering FREE access to PebbleGo (K-2) Databases and a large collection of Capstone Interactive eBooks (3000+ titles) in addition to remote learning resources through June 30, 2020. Simply fill out the online form. Once you do, you’ll get an email with a username and password to share with your educators and parents
Sebco Books --Sebco Books is making multi-user e-books available for free until June 30th. Username: Keepreading Password: Sebco ID#:1
ABDO: Free digital content through June 2020:
--Elementary Digital Bookshelf: PreK-8
--Secondary Digital Bookshelf: Grades 5-12
--ABDO Zoom Online Database: Grades PreK-2
Epic!--This massive digital library for kids 12 and under is offering free Remote Student Access through June 30th through Educators (and Educator accounts are free).
Gumdrop Books --free ebooks from Gumdrop Books and a few of its partners
Online Kids Book Read Alouds:
Authors Everywhere, a Youtube Channel created and run by children's book writers and illustrators. With all this talk of potential quarantines and school closures, we wanted to do something to offer relief for parents and kids who might find themselves stuck at home. On this channel, you'll find workshops, readings, activities, art projects, writing games, writing advice, and more. We hope that we can offer you some fun, some distraction, and a creative outlet for any feelings that might come up during this time.
#StoryMarch--The Greater Boston Illustrators' Group dreamed up #StoryMarch as the Covid-19 pandemic took over the daily lives of everyone we know. As schools and offices close and people are stuck at home without their usual activities and diversions, we hope that #StoryMarch might be a fun way for all artists of every age to stretch themselves a little and have fun
Stuck Inside: Authors’ Virtual Book Club (well, this one’s just getting started but maybe it’ll grow)
Activities:
Jason Reynolds' Grab the Mic: Tell Your Story initiative --this program includes a monthly newsletter for parents and educators focused on relevant topics of the day and a biweekly video series intended to inspire creativity in young people, titled “Write. Right. Rite.” Both will be hosted on Reynolds’ GRAB THE MIC Resource Guide at: guides.loc.gov/jason-reynolds/grab-the-mic.
Girls Who Code at Home --a new service of Girls Who Code, which will release activities weekly — some online, some offline, of varying levels of difficulty—over the course of the next few months. Each activity will include a feature of a woman in tech who pioneered innovative technology.
Free Online Events and Activities for Kids at Home --Huge list of fun, free activities and live events from Common Sense Media
Scholastic Learn at Home: Day-by-day projects to keep kids reading, thinking, and growing
Education Companies Offering Free Subscriptions Due To School Closings (big list!)
Jarrett J. Krosoczka drawing webcasts—Award-winning author and illustrator will be hosting free drawing webcasts every weekday at 2pm EST for at least the next few weeks
Authors Launch Digital Children's Book Festival --The Everywhere Book Festival will be held virtually May 1-2 with more than 50 participating authors and illustrators
Cabin Fever Math --From Bedtime Math, fun, free math activities to do at home (the free app is great too!)
Story Preservation Initiative-- find a selection of audio stories from three master storytellers on the K-3 Storytelling Learning Lab, found at www.storypreservation.org. To access click K-3 Learning Lab on blue banner. A one-time registration is required and then click on “storytellers” and listen and enjoy at no cost.
One Hundred Museums Transformed Their Collections Into Free Coloring Pages
Storyline Online from the Screen Actors Guild, featuring actors reading picture books
Google Arts & Culture Collections--teamed up with over 500 museums and galleries around the world to bring anyone and everyone virtual tours and online exhibits of some of the most famous museums around the world
Virtual concerts, plays, museums and other culture--list of worldwide cultural activities to engage in online
Read, Wonder, and Learn! Favorite Authors & Illustrators Share Resources for Learning Anywhere --webpage featuring authors reading their own kids' books, with the videos embedded in the page
"Talking is Teaching: Talk, Read, Sing" Family Staycation Resources --from Too Small to Fail
Story Time From Space -While in space, astronauts videotape themselves reading picture books to the children of Earth. These videos are being edited and placed on this website -- look under the heading 'Story Time Videos.'"
KidLit TV --multimedia site celebrating all things children's literature
Book Authors Reading their Books --YouTube playlist of kids' authors reading their own works
Jarrett Lerner’s Activities Page --lots of printouts/activities that encourage creativity and story creation
Virtual School Activities --great list of free virtual tours and activities from around the world
Just For Kids: A Comic Exploring The New Coronavirus
Comic that includes information from healthcare experts interviewed for an NPR story. Can also be printed and folded into a zine.
Handwashing posters & other materials for children and teens
Center for Disease Control (CDC)
Coronavirus Infographic and Game
Free resources for teaching children about the Coronavirus and hygiene from Tumblehome
BrainPOP: Coronavirus
BrainPOP is a surprisingly entertaining, at time humorous, basic explanation of COVID-19 and needed precautions for elementary age children and young teens.
Talking to Children About COVID-19 (Coronavirus): A Parent Resource (PDF)
Guidelines from the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
Helping Children Cope
From Ready.gov, how to help children cope with disasters
Parent/Caregiver Guide to Helping Families Cope with the Corronavirus Diease 2019
This resource will help parents and caregivers think about how an infectious disease outbreak might affect their family— both physically and emotionally—and what they can do to help their family cope. (National Child Traumatic Stress Network)
Resources for Families During the Coronavirus Pandemic --a range of information from Common Sense Media
Reader Zone --Through May 1st, the full version of Reader Zone is free for schools and libraries, regardless of the number of readers in your programs.You don't need to enter a credit card or a coupon code. Just make an account, build your reading program and engage your community.
Booklist --All Booklist and Book Links content is now freely available until further notice.
Answering Kids’ Questions about Coronavirus (YouTube)
Children’s Hospital CO
Helping Children Cope With Stress During the 2019-nCoV Outbreak (PDF)
World Health Organization (WHO)
Fighting Misinformation About Coronavirus --resources from National Association of Media Literacy Education (NAMLE)
Tips and resources for news literacy, media balance, and healthy communication during Coronavirus --from Common Sense Media