Skip to main content

US National Library of Medicine: Home

Health Programming for Summer Reading & Virtual Engagement Resource List

4/7/2020

Michael Balkenhol, Health Programming Coordinator National Network of Libraries of Medicine / Middle Atlantic Region 412.624.1411 / MAB602@pitt.edu

COVID-19 is an emerging, rapidly evolving situation.

Get the latest public health information from CDC: https://www.coronavirus.gov.
Get the latest research information from NIH:
https://www.nih.gov/coronavirus.

Who are we?

  • National Institutes of Health nih.gov
  • National Library of Medicine nlm.nih.gov
  • National Network of Libraries of Medicine nnlm.gov/regions
  • NNLM MAR Funding Opportunities nnlm.gov/funding
  • NNLM Training Schedule nnlm.gov/training

Summer Reading

  • Health Programming for Summer Reading Imagine Your Story nnlm.gov/summer
  • NNLM & Public Libraries nnlm.gov/public-libraries

Health Information & Programming Resources

  • MedlinePlus medlineplus.gov
  • MedlinePlus - Spanish medlineplus.gov/Spanish
  • MedlinePlus Healthy Recipes medlineplus.gov/recipes
  • Libraries Transform Health Literacy Toolkit ilovelibraries.org/librariestransform/health-literacy-toolkit- intro
  • Health Outreach and Programming Resource Guide (NNLM MAR) nnlm.gov/mar/guides/programming-class/ideas
  • Engage for Health nnlm.gov/mar/guides/programming-class/engageforhealth
  • NNLM Reading Club (some graphic medicine titles) nnlm.gov/all-of-us/nnlm-reading-club
  • NLM Exhibition Program nlm.nih.gov/hmd/about/exhibition/index.html
  • NLM Exhibition: Graphic Medicine
  • Education Resources/Lesson Plans o Request a Travelling Exhibition
  • Join Exhibitions Connect List
  • Graphic Medicine Initiative nnlm.gov/ner/graphic-medicine
  • graphicmedicine.org
  • National Institute on Aging and NIH Go4Life go4life.nia.nih.gov
  • Let’s Move in Libraries letsmovelibraries.org
  • ALA’s Programming Librarian programminglibrarian.org
  • Jbrary - Tune in for Storytime Success jbrary.com
  • Digital Learn: Computer Classes and more digitallearn.org

Examples of Libraries and Online Engagement with Health Programming

  • Brooklyn Public Library: Meditation and Therapy Dogs bklynlibrary.org
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh: Virtual Reading Challenge carnegielibrary.org
  • Hogwarts Digital Escape Room nnlm.gov/ZYK
  • Tour of the Library: Cooper Siegel Community Library facebook.com/CooperSiegelCommunityLibrary
  • Let’s Move In Libraries – April Newsletter letsmovelibraries.org/newsletter-april-2020
  • Explore Live Nature Cams explore.org/livecams/explore-all-cams/seasons

Citizen Science & SciStarter

  • National Library of Medicine & Citizen Science Month

Featured projects, Library and Community Guide to Citizen Science, and More

  • nnlm.gov/national/guides/crowdsourcing-and-citizen-science/citizen-science-month
  • SciStarter: Science We Can Do Together scistarter.org/nlm

Recorded Webinars on Citizen Science

  • Host or Facilitate Remote, Live-Streamed Citizen Science Events
  • Digital Accessibility: Techniques for Creating User-friendly Presentations, Documents, and other Content

Upcoming Webinars

  • Providing Virtual Programming in a Health Crisis
  • OCLC Virtual Town Hall: Libraries and the COVID-19 Crisis

Stay Connected with NNLM MAR for NY, NJ, PA, & DE

Be Active! Top Ten Ways to Engage with NNLM MAR

Developed by NNLM staff. This project has been funded in whole or in part by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH) under cooperative agreement number UG4LM012342 with the University of Pittsburgh, Health Sciences Library System.

Updated 4/7/2020

APLS Reference's picture
APLS Reference
Contact:
Alabama Public Library Service
6030 Monticello Dr. Montgomery, AL 36130
(334) 213-3920
Website