Resources for Public Libraries

Brief overview of best practices for grant proposals from WebJunction.

A collection of links, message boards, FAQs, best practices, and guides for writing grants, particularly government. A free site (though it does contain advertisements for commercial grant related services and workshops).

Expansive coverage of grant writing training. Also features helpful "quick resources" for grant writers. Some information is available through paid subscription only.

GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofits. Users can research potential donors by searching for their 990 information.

Tips to help make your ALA Public Programs Office grant application competitive. While specifically for ALA grants, the information in this short document is applicable to other grants.

Alabama Giving is an association of grantmaking organizations that works to increase, promote and encourage philanthropy by helping its members share knowledge, collaborate and advocate to improve conditions in Alabama. Features a directory of community foundations in Alabama by counties/cities served.

AHF awards grants to support public humanities projects. Grants accommodate a broad range of topics and formats. Grant applications for library patrons are encouraged.

APLS administers the state's competitive LSTA grants program. All state aid-compliant Alabama public libraries are eligible to apply for grants to fund an array of projects and services to diverse populations. Contains all necessary forms, deadlines, rules, evaluation criteria, and other helpful documents for potential applicants.

A state agency dedicated to enhancing the quality of life of Alabamians by providing grant funding and support for the state's artistic resources.

Browse awards, grants, fellowships, and scholarships available through American Library Association.

One-stop shop for fundraising sources and training. Grantmakers are searchable by name, state, and ZIP code.

Our free grant. database allows you to search for current available grants without the cost of an expensive subscription. We invite you to use it as much as possible to find the right funds for your library or organization. The database is updated regularly so please check back frequently for additional opportunities.

The Ford Foundation donates more than $370 million per year, including $75 million earmarked for institutions to assist the cultural and social legacies of African-Americans in the United States South.

Federal grant resource featuring training and a robust search feature.

Grants available through the Institute of Museum and Library Services. Includes grants like National Leadership Grants for Libraries and Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program.

Routinely updated with library grants. Recommended resource by Winning Grants: A How-To-Do-It Manual for Librarians.

NEA provides grant funding to individuals and organizations for new and existing projects that promote artistic expression and the arts and thereby strengthen our communities.

NEH typically awards grants to cultural institutions, including libraries, that strengthen teaching and learning in schools and colleges, facilitate research and original scholarship, provide opportunities for lifelong learning, preserve and provide access to cultural and educational resources, and strengthen the institutional base of the humanities.

The NIH provides financial support in the form of grants, cooperative agreements, and contracts to support the advancement of the NIH mission to enhance health, extend healthy lives, and reduce the burdens of illness and disability. Provides links to funding opportunities, grants policy and guidance, awards data, and receipt dates. Each type of NIH grant program has its own set of eligibility requirements.

The official U.S. government website for people who make, receive, and manage federal awards.

Lists grants from various organizations. Includes application deadline and links to grantmaker websites.

Your library may be eligible for grant funding to assist with the cost of a new TLC automation system. Finding and applying for appropriate grants can be a daunting process, but the payoff is well worth the effort.

Features competitive grants for individuals, local education agencies, nonprofit organizations, and other organizations or agencies. Filterable by award eligibility.

A Foundation Center and Knight Foundation collaboration to connect grantmakers and libraries. Provides a data tool to help libraries find grantmakers and capacity building training to help libraries thrive.