Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health and Consumer Health Databases
AHFS Consumer Medication Information
AHFS Consumer Medication Information is a trusted source and recognized standard for patient drug information, available in both English and Spanish.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Accessible through Alabama Virtual Library. This full-text database covers a wide variety of subjects, including information on specific diseases as well as overall health topics. Subjects include fitness, nutrition, diabetes, aging, women's health, children's health and more.
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
The famous Merck Manuals are now available online as part of Merck’s Global Medical Knowledge 2020 initiative. The Merck Manuals are a leading medical reference resource with both a professional and consumer version.
PubMed comprises more than 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
High Blood Pressure Digital Resources
Choosing Blood Pressure Medication - Mayo Clinic
Discusses the various classes of blood pressure medications to help consumers understand their prescriptions.
Get the Most Out of Home Blood Pressure Monitoring - Mayo Clinic
Important resource from Mayo Clinic for people interested in monitoring their blood pressure at home. Has helpful information on selecting a blood pressure monitor to use at home. Also available in Spanish.
High Blood Pressure - Merck Manuals
Overview of high blood pressure from Merck Manuals. Includes information on causes, symptoms, and treatment (including a separate entry for drug treatment of high blood pressure).
How to Prevent High Blood Pressure - MedlinePlus
Overview of high blood pressure from MedlinePlus. Includes information on the stages of high blood pressure, risk factors, and how to prevent or control the condition. Contains exhaustive additional resource sections.
Mind Your Risks - NIH
From NIH. Details how high blood pressure is linked to dementia and a host of other health conditions. Gives information on risk factors and advice on managing risks. Has helpful additional resources section.
Preventing High Blood Pressure - CDC
CDC's succinct overview on preventing high blood pressure. Each recommendation contains a link to another helpful resource (e.g. quitting smoking links to CDC's Smoking and Tobacco site).
Types of Blood Pressure Medications - AHA
Many blood pressure medications, known as antihypertensives, are available by prescription to lower high blood pressure. There are a variety of classes of high blood pressure medications and they include a number of different drugs. Includes an overview of the classes of blood pressure medication.
Understanding Blood Pressure Readings - AHA
Overview from AHA of high blood pressure with more specific information on interpreting blood pressure monitoring results. Contains related articles and printable blood pressure fact sheets.
Diet and Nutrition Digital Resources
DASH Diet - MedlinePlus
DASH stands for Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension. The DASH diet can help lower high blood pressure and cholesterol and other fats in your blood. It can help lower your risk for heart attack and stroke and help you lose weight. Also in Spanish.
DASH Eating Plan - NIH
DASH is a flexible and balanced eating plan that helps create a heart-healthy eating style for life. The DASH eating plan requires no special foods and instead provides daily and weekly nutritional goals.
Low-Salt Diet - MedlinePlus
Too much sodium in your diet can be bad for you. If you have high blood pressure or heart failure, you may be asked to limit the amount of salt you eat every day. These tips will help you choose foods that are lower in sodium. Also in Spanish.
Managing Blood Pressure with a Hearty Healthy Diet - AHA
Eating a heart-healthy diet is important for managing your blood pressure and reducing your risk of heart attack, stroke and other health threats.
Sample Menus for the DASH Diet - Mayo Clinic
Interested in following the DASH eating plan but not sure how? Here are sample menus to get you started.
Shaking the Salt Habit - AHA
Many Americans have acquired a taste for a high salt diet. One way to cut back is to skip the table salt. However, most of the sodium in our diets comes from packaged, processed foods. Eating these foods less often can help reduce your sodium intake, lower your blood pressure and/or prevent high blood pressure (HBP or hypertension) from developing in the first place.